Still On Nigerian Desinger. VALENTINE EJIMAKOR-DAK VAL

Fashion

His still continues to be on the edge of fashion and style in Nigeria and beyond. We have for the genesis of DAK VAL and his spectacular designs.

Profile | Dak Val

I have been a designer for over 10years, when I was in the university, I had a powerful inner reality. Later, I sold the clothes I made in my room in school. As a child I fell in love with African prints and traditional wears and always made sure I took part in the cultural dances done in school so I could put on my own traditional attire.

I really enjoy dressing people. When people come into my store, and I put an outfit together for them and they look fantastic-they’re really happy. I like knowing that someone’s life is better because of what I do. One man told me, “Your clothes allow me to go out into the world.” He had some figure problems, but the clothes allowed him to feel that he could face the world. I also enjoy the act of creating clothes. Working with color and fabric are still things that really drive me.

The most challenging part of my career has helped me understand that you have to be really stubborn. It took me years to get here. But I had set my mind on getting into the industry and I persevered. Perseverance isn’t just a garment industry issue; it’s a life lesson.

VALENTINE EJIMAKOR-DAK VAL

Leave a Reply

